when one door slams

I used to be a door slammer. Every once in a while I revert back to my old door-slamming ways, but for the most part, I am a recovered door slammer. Or at least, that’s what I think.

I still close doors with emphasis when I get really frustrated.

A funny story (now, 14 years later, it’s funny) from long ago: When my husband and I had first begun to share a home, and were still working out the kinks of a new relationship and cohabitation, I got really mad during an argument, stomped off and slammed the bedroom door.

Well, I tried to slam the bedroom door. It got stuck on a rug that was nearby and wouldn’t slam. In my growing frustration, I repeatedly tried to slam the door getting the rug further jammed under the door. After about four minutes of trying to slam the door, I huffed and walked into another bedroom and slammed that door.

Recently my children have started slamming doors. They slam them in each other’s faces when they get angry with each other. They slam them to prove that their room is their room. They slam them to prove that they can. And sometimes they just shut them loudly and it sounds like a slam.

It makes me crazy.

I.Can’t.Stand.It.

We’ve talked about door slamming. We’ve talked about what it feels like to have a door slammed in your face. We’ve talked about how much it would hurt to have a finger slammed in a door. We’ve talked about how loud it is and how much it bothers mommy. We’ve talked and talked and talked.

And if you come to visit our house right now, there is a certain seven-year-old who no longer has a door to her bedroom.

4 responses to “when one door slams

  1. I fully expect to remove at least 1 and more likely 2 doors someday in the next 5 years. (Have to admit there is something satisfying about really slamming a door. Don’t tell my kids I said that.)

  2. Ha! This is good, I am also a recovering (on rare occasion door slammer)…however, when I heard my daughter slam a door at the tender age of 4, I thought I had better shape up…I still slip up from time to time, but apparently not enough to have made a lasting impression. Now if I could just get her to stop sighing very loudly when she is frustrated…wonder from whom she got that????

    • Oh, yes. Don’t get me started on the deep sigh. Both my kids do that. My favorite is when Maggie sighs, closes her eyes, touches her forehead and then gently nods. It’s her impression of me and my impression of my dad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

