What do you do?

I get this question often.

“What do you do? I mean, other than being a mom.”

Most of the time it’s asked very sincerely, not in a so what do you do ALL day? Every once in a while it’s asked in the totally snotty way.

Oddly enough, I find myself saying “Nothing,” or “Not much,” or “A little of this, a little of that.”

I have one more year of being a full-time mom. Well, not that a mom ever gets to not be a full-time mom, but I have one more year before my youngest starts kindergarten.

As it stands now, I have a break for 3 hours a day, 4 days a week. Though I feel I must mention that with Winter Break, snow days, sick days, medical tests, and holidays, my youngest attended school for 6 days from mid December through mid February. That totals 18 hours in 60 days when I wasn’t actively a full-time mom. (I also must add that my husband is a fabulous Dad who shares parenting with me, but I am the “primary caregiver” for the bulk of the daylight hours.)

I say this not in a complaining tone. I know tone can be a bitch on paper. I am answering the question on paper so that the next time someone asks, I can give a reasonable response.

What I do fits me perfectly right now, like a comfy pair of pajamas.

So here is what I do: (other than laundry, grocery shopping and all the PITA stuff that everyone does)

I edit and take photos for a monthly newsletter for my children’s former school.

I run a home-based business that is currently primarily a monogramming business, but is about to expand to one-of-a-kind handmade items.

*with this goes taxes, paperwork, advertising, the actual sewing work, research, record-keeping, etc.

I write as often as I can for myself, primarily here, and for others at various sites.

I also squeeze in some home dec projects and my photography hobby when I have free time.

I am a room-mom for my daughter’s class which sometimes requires nothing, and other times requires quite a bit of time.

Oh, and I like to read a book every once in a while.

The rest of the time, I sit around eating chocolate.

3 responses to “What do you do?

  1. Sounds like a full day to me! When people used to ask my mom what she did her reply was, “I bake cookies.” It was the truth.

  2. You’re raising the next generation. Being a role model. Putting in sweat equity. Making an investment in the future. Earning an income, only it’s not paid in greenbacks. I’m reading The Happiness Project right now. (LOVE IT!) This statement she makes repeatedly haunts me. For years, I’ve tried to sum having children up and this does it perfectly: “The days are long. The years are short.” Damn-dest hard job I ever had and damn proud to have done it! And buddy, it’s work. It’s work at home…where I never “stayed.”

  3. yea, I usually just sit around and eat chocolate and drink diet dr. pepper all day.

Leave a Reply

