wimpy toes

Have you ever had a toenail fall off? (If that’s not a red flag of where this post is going, you are color blind.)

I figure it’s not that uncommon. I lost my big toenail years ago after jamming it during a softball game. I was a bartender at the time, and wore a sock and sandal on that foot for weeks while the new toenail grew in.

Fun times.

A few months ago, my son backed up and stepped on my toe (with all 47 pounds of weight right at the base of my toenail.) It hurt A LOT, but at the time I didn’t think much about it.

That was a few months ago. It has been sore ever since. Like, had to stop training for the 1/2 marathon sore.

I tried to walk through the pain, but I’m apparently a wimp.

I tried to rest it and then begin training again, which I thought was actually working, until I walked 1.5 miles the other day and it’s been hurting again ever since.

So I get to claim a toe injury for bailing on the marathon. How lame.

The weird part is, I swear that toenail has stopped growing. I have trimmed my other 9 toenails twice but that one hasn’t moved a millimeter. I would not be surprised if it fell off. My husband thinks I’m nuts and insists it would be black and blue if was going to fall off. He may very well be right (on both counts) and I don’t expect it to fall off, but I wouldn’t be surprised. There’s a difference.

Oh, and I haven’t finished my great american novel because I have a hangnail. Pfft.

 

4 responses to “wimpy toes

  1. Sounds like you injured the geminal cells that produces new nail. It can stop the growth of the nail for three to four weeks. Protect it from trauma as it heals.

  2. Pop some advil and paint it a fab color!

Leave a Reply

