>97%

(Blissdom post to come soon. Promise.)

This is the one where I tell you how much of a dork I can turn into when I get nervous.

Nick had his four-year-old well visit yesterday. It was almost an un-well visit, but his fever subsided Tuesday. About three minutes into to the visit I started to get a little nervous. Sometimes my nerves hit me at the weirdest times. It was a well visit.

We did the usual height, weight, check-in stuff. When our doctor (who I really, really like) came in she showed us the growth chart. He’s not actually on the chart for height. They like to call it >97% but I saw the chart and he’s more like 104% except such a thing doesn’t really exist. Anyway, she went on to say that his weight is in the 90-95% (which makes total sense, right?). She mentioned that his weight curve on the chart was not a pretty arch like his height curve. “No need to diet or anything, we just want to make sure his curve doesn’t keep going up.”

At which point, my mind started to swirl. Did she just use the word diet in reference to my four-year-old? And then the pop quiz started.

“How much milk does he drink in a day?”

*blink* *blink* “Ummmm, 32 ounces?”

How much juice?

*blink* “Ummm, 8 ounces?”

“Servings of vegetables?”

And here is where stupid just starts flowing out of my mouth. “Ummm, one? We aren’t a big vegetable eating family. I mean, we serve a vegetable at dinner every night, but he doesn’t always eat it.”

“Fruit?”

“Ummm, two?”

And yes, I answered all of these questions with questions.

Her eyebrow rose a few times, only making me spout more gibberish.

“Water?”

“Yeah, he doesn’t drink much water. That’s something I’ve been meaning to work on.”

So far I was failing my pop quiz. F minus.

“One thing to try is to mix a small amount of juice with water. That way he is getting less juice and more water throughout the day.”

“Oh, I do water down all his juice. I guess he doesn’t really drink that much juice after all.”

“We probably want to limit his milk to 24 oz instead of 32.”

Duh, came home to measure the cup he uses and it’s 5 oz, not 8 oz like my mind automatically went to. So he’s drinking about 25 ounces of milk a day as it is and only 2 ounces of juice.

And he asked for a smoothie yesterday which has at least 3 servings of fruit. He drank smoothies every day this summer and sometimes twice a day.

“Oh, he does eat salads. He ate a salad everyday last week,” I said.

“Well, a salad has at least two servings of vegetables in it.”

“Oh, great.”

I’d like to go back and have a re-test.

So the moral of this story, I’m not malnourishing my child. Nor am I overfeeding him. His knobby knees and hip bones are proof of that. Nothing to see here.

But the swirl in my stomach? Yeah, it wasn’t without merit.

The visit ended the way I knew it would. His teachers have been concerned about some “staring spells” he regularly has. There is a possibility of absence seizures. There is also a huge possibility that it’s nothing. We left with another appointment with a pediatric neurologist.

His teachers, his doctor and I all agree that it’s in his best interest to dig a little deeper. So dig we will. I’ve got my mama shovel ready to go.

 

2 responses to “>97%

  1. You have a whole army of mamas with shovel in hand. Let us know where we can help!
    I’m hoping for nothing, but glad we’re digging. Hugs to you and your keen mama instincts!

  2. Ana has been in that >97% group since she was 1. 2 1/2 years old now and wearing a 4t. I’m glad they never asked me those specific questions. I’d be clueless at amounts.

    I wish you the best of luck with your digging.

Leave a Reply

