on listening

I’m not always sure that my husband listens to me. I sometimes feel like I repeat myself over and over. So between repeating myself for him and repeating myself for the children, well, it’s enough to make me twitchy sometimes.

And then there are days like I had last weekend two weekends ago (I’ve been meaning to write, really I have.)

I took the kids to “Hoots and Hayrides” at the Owl’s Hill Nature Sanctuary (oof, I want to post about that too.) When we got back in the afternoon, my husband had a surprise.

Our new bench.

Maggie rides the school bus  every day. She usually wanders around or sits on her lunchbox while she’s waiting.

Nick rides the bus this year also. And I wait with him for the bus to pick him up and I wait for the bus to drop him off. He is not allowed to get off the bus unless I am waiting for him. I was doing a lot of waiting at the end of the driveway.

I had mentioned getting a bench a few times. And I thought it was falling on deaf ears.

I was wrong.

I am happy every day to have a bench to sit on while waiting. It’s a daily reminder that I am heard and I am loved.

4 responses to “on listening

  1. That is a beautiful bench!!! Yea for surprises. 🙂

  2. I LOVE the bench. And the flowers next to it. AND what a surprise!!

  3. I can’t believe he picked that out on his own. So pretty! And much nicer looking than the shabby “vintage” chairs I got for our bus stop.

Leave a Reply

