roll with it

Maggie and I went to the roller rink today. Her first time. My first time in over ten years.

I have such fond memories of skating as a youngster every Sunday with my best friend. I don’t remember a time when I didn’t know how to skate. Thus, when I was giving Maggie a few pointers before we got to the rink, they mostly involved how to stop and how to slow down. I forgot about the whole getting on your feet and staying on your feet part.

My little girl’s determination is fierce. Ahem, I guess she comes by that naturally. I had to remember not to skate in front of her or she would hurry to catch up to me and fall. There was a lot of falling involved (for one of us.) (Thank goodness I didn’t fall. I’m old enough, I might not have gotten back up…) She looked so surprised the first few times. Then frustrated. Then the determination kicked in and she got herself up as fast as she could and kept going.

I asked many times if she wanted to rest, just to sit for a minute or two. (I might have been hoping for a chance to really skate, to see if I remembered how.) She never sat. Not once. She didn’t want to waste any of the skating time just sitting. Girl after my own heart.

She could barely make forward progress when they announced it was time for the limbo. I kid you not, she hobbled her way to the middle and took her place in line. She has no fear.

At the beginning, she told me she didn’t want to hold my hand because I was making her fall. So I let go. Fall. Fall. Fall. Then it dawned of her that I wasn’t the one making her fall. I held her hand a little, but once she started to get the hang, I let her go. I let her figure out her own path. And I watched her fall and get back up and keep going.

Why does everything have to be some huge analogy with me?

Did you grow up skating? Anyone want to go for a Girls Night Out at the skating rink? Wouldย 30-somethings invading the rink totally freak out the teens that hang there? Do teens still hang at the rink?

11 responses to “roll with it

  1. I totally grew up skating. I skated at roller rinks — usually at birthday parties — but mostly, I skated up and down my street. I haven’t been on skates in DECADES, but I am SO IN for a girls’ night out at the skating rink.

    • We went to one place called Pop’s that was no-frills. Then on special occasions, it was the fancy Skateland. But I did plenty of driveway skating myself. I used to love the sound the cracks in the sidewalk made when I was going fast.

  2. I was NOT a good skater. I grew up in Robertson County (I was a country girl believe it or not) and I rarely got to go. Sniff. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Any way. I’ll pass but I’d go and drink beer and watch everyone’s stuff and play video games. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I take the girls on Fridays from 4 to 5 to the Bellevue Community Center for FREE roller skating. Best kept secret in Bellevue and then your kids are TOTALLY worn out for Friday night. My 7-year-old is now a skating machine thanks to our going so much last year. Girl can work the real skating rink now!

  3. ME! ME! ME! Let’s do it!
    I wish I had some good bell-bottoms. I remember the way they swayed when I wore them skating in the (ahem) 70s. Village People and Grand Master Flash. It doesn’t get any better than that.

  4. I was there EVERY Sunday for YEARS. My poor uncle would take us and then we’d pretend that we didn’t know him. Oh we had so much fun!!

  5. MEEEEE!! I was obsessed with roller skating as a kid – when we had an unfinished basement for awhile, my sister and I would spend hours down there skating around on the cement floor, jamming to Madonna and the like. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I would love, love, love to go again – just promise if you go soon we can go again sometime when I’m not pregnant again. I don’t think my OB would sign off on that as a 3rd tri activity. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m thinking my next birthday party is going to take place at the roller rink. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Maggie hasn’t stopped asking to go back from the moment we left and that makes me soooo happy. (She volunteered to drop Nick off with random strangers when I explained I wasn’t ready to have both of them at the rink by myself.)

  6. Since we don’t ever have school anymore, maybe we could just all meet @ the roller rink. You know, like our own little homeschool field trip group. Can you tell I’m losing it here?

Leave a Reply

