I’m not nervous (yet)

I have mentioned before that I am one of those last-minute kind of people. I work much better on a deadline. In fact, I pretty much only work on a deadline.

I seem to keep taking on more projects every day. And really, there is nothing wrong with that. They are almost all projects I enjoy doing. But I foresee a little bit of an issue coming up.

They all have the same deadline.

And that could really be bad for me. Scrambling to finish one thing on deadline is a craft I have mastered. Scrambling to finish six things at the same times makes my head spin. And then I have to go take a nap.

Some people get nervous about a deadline and can’t sleep. I am the opposite. Pulling an all-nighter to study for a test? Sure, right after I nap for an hour. Working on a huge presentation that is due today? No problem. Just let me catch a few winks and I’ll be ready to work.

I can be stressed about a deadline, get an extension, and then stop working until I am facing the exact situation the extension was supposed to avoid.

For years I have tried to find ways to outsmart myself – setting pretend early deadlines, rewarding myself for early progress. Unfortunately, I am not easily fooled.

I’ve decided this time around, I’m just going to try to enjoy the ride. I know it’s going to get crazy there toward the end, but it will all get done. Right?

Right?

2 responses to “I’m not nervous (yet)

  1. I’m with you. Once a crammer, always a crammer. I will never do my holiday shopping in August. I love the thrill of power shopping, and getting it all done with the pressure of making a decision, now or never. And as for all my projects, they get done. And always at the last minute.
    After a few bad experiences with all-nighters in college, I chose another route. I knew I needed all those extra hours, but didn’t want to risk falling asleep during the exam, or having my little power nap go longer than intended. So I would pull my all-nighter a night earlier.

  2. Oh, Brigid. We are just alike.

    I remember sort of envying in fascination those friends of mine who did their homework right after school before dinner and completed big projects and papers weeks before the deadline.

    You’ll do great and get it all done! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

