stinky rose

Because sometimes I like to jump into the deep end, knowing full well that I don’t know how to swim, I present Write of Passage. A lot of fabulous writers are getting together on-line to, well, to write. And I seem to have jumped in. Will someone please throw me a swimmy noodle.

Our first challenge – Our most embarrassing story. Gah.

As a relatively unknown freshman at a huge high school, I was eager to make friends. And that I did. As a fairly boy-crazy teenager, I was eager to have a super cool boyfriend. That would prove a little trickier.

Our student council would organize these crazy flower drives or some such nonsense, where a student could pay a few bucks for a rose, write a note to go with it and have it delivered during home room to the lucky recipient.

I sat every day during these silly fundraiser weeks, waiting patiently for my rose.

Never happened.

So I decided to jump into the deep end. I would be proactive. I would send the rose. (I still shudder.)

So I chose one of the most popular boys. Who was quite handsome. And a year older than me. Because if you’re going to go, you might as well go big. Right?

The words I wrote on that note are still burned into my brain. I can only hope it is something he forgot about long ago.

“I have always been told, where there is a will, there is a way. I have the will, please lead the way.”

I. Kid. You. Not.

Yeah, so that didn’t go so well for me. And I still cringe at the memory of him rounding the corner of the hallway the first time. And the next time. And pretty much every time for the next three years.

Worst two bucks I ever spent.

26 responses to “stinky rose

  1. gah! The horrors of high school crushes and the things we did to perpetuate them.

  2. oh no! I have a high school story or two myself. Makes me shiver just thinking about it!

  3. Our schools ‘thing’ was to dedicate a song to one another. I didn’t handle that as well as you you handled the rose ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I once asked a boy to prom by handing him a note in Biology. He never even answered me back and I had to sit across a table from him for the rest of the year!

  5. Oh my gosh…I am laughing OUT LOUD…and my face is bright red! Why? I am remembering when I used to call this boy’s house and when he answered the phone, I would play “Hopelessly Devoted to You” on my record player and then hang up. He KNEW it was me. This is why I can never go to a reunion. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Now that you mention it, I am vaguely remembering more and more embarrassing stories that I had almost successfully deleted from my brain. Love the “Hopelessly Devoted.” It’s giving me flashbacks.

  6. Pingback: No Todo Yago

  7. Pingback: Finger-licking good « No Todo Yago

  8. oh I used to hate those stupid “send a flower to your crush” type weeks… we mixed it up and threw in a “send a candy cane” around Christmas. Shudder.

  9. I’m really glad you wrote about this. It makes me feel a little bit better about my embarrassing moment. We could have totally sat next to each other in the lunchroom.

  10. Oh my gosh, high school crushes were evil!

  11. At least your embarrassing moment didn’t involve someone else’s poop on your white shorts..LOL

    I remember all too well the horrors of the high school crush. As a freshman I spent 15 bucks on an ad in the school paper professing my undying love for a senior drummer in the marching band. I got laughed at for weeks after that. Especially by his girlfriend! (Whom I didn’t know was his girlfriend.)

  12. Totally understand the crush. I’d have done the same thing if we’d had those at my school. Stupid flowers.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. I sort of wish I was that ballsy.

  14. Wow. I was horrible about the unanswered crushing longing for boys who didn’t know I existed. But, I never had the guts to do something like that. I know it was embarrassing, but hey…from one crushy chick to another. WAY TO GO!

  15. LOL!!!! That was VERY funny! And it reminded me of even more stupid things I have done when I was that age… like I didn’t remember enough!

  16. That’s awesome. It totally reminds me of the Indigo Girls song, “Least Complicated”.

  17. So reminds me of the sadie hawkins dance, which happened to be on the same day as my crushes birthday, that made me think a small gift would be appropriate. I agonized over it, something classic and useful or something tacky and funny. I didn’t want him to think I was being presumptous so I went with tacky and funny, when HE really was classy. For years that haunted me, until I read that he had died. Yet even on his birthday I remember it (his birthday also falls on a prominent day in history), then I remember he is dead, and my humiliation eases.
    That is just so fkd

    • The words Sadie Hawkins brings up a whole other cascade of memories.

      Sorry about your crush. My first boyfriend (5th grade) was killed when we were in high school. I’m pretty sure I still haven’t gotten over that.

  18. OMG OMG OMG. Seriously. I gasped when I read this. After reading several of these today I realized that I, um, well, mine was a bit too long. That I think I sort of misinterpretted the assignment if you will. turns out all of things that I was *Embarassed* to tell, were EXACTLY the sort of things I was supposed to be telling. ANYWAY, I have a very nearly identical story. I bought the flower. I had it delivered to the boy. AND. HE. GAVE. IT. AWAY. IN. FRONT. OF. ME. yep….

  19. Aaaack! We had those rose things, too. I have no good stories to tell about them, though, because they have all been blocked from my memory!

    Your story was great.

  20. Only an uber popular chick could possibly have ever invented the cruel joke that are the fundraiser roses.
    We had ours in middle school and my best friend at the time (a guy) thought it would be hilarious to send one to my crush on my behalf.
    I’ll admit, I got a little excited, like you, by the what ifs and maybes. And then I saw him receive it, blush a deep burgundy, and then destroy it before shoving it into the first trashcan. Heartbreaking. Though in hindsight he must have been even more mortified than me. Who does that to a 15 year old boy?

  21. OMG. Eep! So glad my school didn’t do that; so glad I mostly stayed away from guys at my school.
    Great storytelling.

  22. He-he. Reminds me of a college moment. I heard you were doing Write. I’m looking of an online fiction writing group so I can work on my novel. But, nothing that is topic-assigned. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

