feeling the love

“Mommy, I love you all the way to the moon and back. And to all the stars and back,” Maggie said to me tonight on the way home from the paint store. (The paint store where I look more and more haggard every time I go in. The paint store I hope to not visit again this week.)

“I love you that much, too. And I love you all the way to Pluto and back,” I answered.

“How far is Pluto?”

“It’s the farthest planet from the Earth.” (I say planet because I am a child of the seventies and I refuse to say dwarf planet until she comes home from school correcting me.)

“Oh. Well, I love you to the Milky Way and back,” she said.

Touchè, little one.

One response to “feeling the love

  1. That is so purely sweet.

Leave a Reply

