all done

I have been a walking Twitter update without the means to tweet this week. (Or FB update, pick your poison.)

One thing I would have said, had I not imposed this ridiculous set of rules on myself for the week:

“Help! The zipper on my coat is stuck and I’m getting hot.

I had about five others that were so riveting, so powerful, so necessary, that I have completely forgotten them.

And there goes the point of this whole post.

And yes, I have cheated. I sent some FB birthday greetings so I wouldn’t forget. And I have pretty much had to check e-mail daily due to three different projects I am working on. I’m not sure if that makes me a cop-out or just busy.

I have made a few phone calls that I would have handled through e-mail. Those were actually pleasant. But I had nothing to refer back to in writing and almost totally flaked on a commitment.

The hardest part is trying to stay true to not hopping on-line at the drop of a hat. So very many questions I have during the course of a normal day, I answer with a quick internet search. By not going on-line, I found myself just not getting answers. And that’s no good.

A few things I have realized: I was spending entirely too much time on-line. Popping on for a search is one thing, but then I would go to 14 other links and then check FB and my mail and read some blogs with tweets popping up all the while. Hours would go by. Hours, people.

Setting the phone/laptop down and walking away seem to work best for me. And spending five days paying attention to this will help me in the long run.

And yes, I am talking in past tense. Because I’m done. I’m coming back on-line. Turning the little light back on. But with a mindful plan. Just like I don’t sit in front of the TV while I am with the kids, I’m going to stop sitting in front of the computer with the kids.

For the record, when my dear child spends 15 minutes in a public bathroom and I am forced to wait for her, I will most certainly be checking my mail.

3 responses to “all done

  1. I love this. What a neat experiment! I’m glad you are back.

    I know I need to try something like this, but I’m afraid of the withdrawals. 😉

  2. So funny! I was JUST thinking that I hadn’t seen any tweets from you while I was decorating cookies tonight. Glad you’re back…I know exactly what you mean. I need to CUT BACK big time! It’s so easy for 5 minutes to turn into 2 hours!

  3. Welcome back! We missed you!
    When it’s 3 in the morning and I can’t sleep, it somehow turns to 4:44…and then I realize that I’ve been sitting here far too long! (hypothetically speaking, of course)

Leave a Reply

