going dark

After much thought, because what could I possibly do without over thinking, I have decided to go dark for a week.

I have more important things I need to be doing – taking fall walks with the children, doing puzzles, reading books. All those things and more that I used to do all the time before I started looking at my computer all the time.

Many bloggers and social media users discuss how to achieve a mystical thing called balance. Balance is not a word I would use to describe my online time of late.

I have developed a new obsession fascination with Twitter which is a consummate time suck. Add that to a little FB, blog writing, blog reading and I could be online 24 hours a day. Not so good for the mind or the soul.

So the plan, which may change, is to walk away from the computer for 7 days. If you need me, give me a call. I will still be using the phone, though hopefully not as a replacement. I hope to walk away from the television as well, though I am not quite sure about that yet.

There are exceptions, of course.

1. I will still be posting here. I have mentally committed to NaBloPoMo. I am going to write offline and hop on only long enough to publish. (Not that I think the world wouldn’t survive without my words for a week, but rather, I’m hoping with a clearer head, my creativity might increase.)

2. I have a deadline this week for the newsletter I publish which will require computer time.

But the bottom line for me, which was made quite apparent to me today, is that I need to spend some time reconnecting with my own family and my own life.

(Upon rereading, it sounds like something deep and dark and drastic happened today. Not quite. But the children and I waited for an hour for an appointment after school. They behaved wonderfully. I was amazed and happy. I checked my e-mail once during that hour. Within a nanosecond of getting my phone out, they both started yelling and arguing. I put the phone away and they returned to being the sweet little darlings they had been before. It doesn’t get any clearer than that to me.)

 

2 responses to “going dark

  1. Wow, Brigid.

    i can’t wait to hear/read about how it goes for you. I am especially interested in seeing how your creativity deepens when you have a little distance.

    Good for you. See you here later. 😉

  2. I tried to quit Twitter just for the weekend recently and failed miserably. I’m hopelessly addicted. I resisted joining up until last year and well…here I am. Sigh!

    I have managed to avoid Facebook today.

    So pathetic. 😉

    Good luck! It’s good for the soul to unplug.

Leave a Reply

