worth 1,000

We finally got some much-needed sunshine today.  I hate to complain about the last 12 or so days of rain, because we were never in danger from it, as our neighbors in Georgia were. It was quite depressing though, and confirmed my suspicion that Seattle will never be my home (though ironically, Seattle was one of the places on my list to move after Tennessee, back when I was a young doe-eyed post-college grad.)

Anyway, back to the sunshine.  Mike and I took the kids to the zoo today.  The kids needed the fresh air; I needed the fresh air. The weather was, in a word, perfect.

I brought my camera to take some pictures of the animals.  Nick is really starting to track on the different animals and talks about the zoo all the time, so I thought having pictures of the animals would be fun.

And then I tried to take some pictures.  My camera was having problems. I was having major problems with my camera. Not good.

After asking a question of another seemingly-pro (very nice camera, very expensive lens,  using a monopod) photographer who was shooting the snow leopard cubs, I had a moment of clarity.

I needed to get my camera off automatic.  I have been using automatic since I got the camera in an attempt to delay reading the manual “start using it right away.”  And what has happened, is I have atrophied a lot of my photo skills.

I turned everything to manual today and stared at ISO buttons, and F-Stop numbers, and shutter speed like someone who had never used a camera before.  It was quite a jolt to realize just how lacking my photo instincts have gotten.

But, instead of clicking back to automatic, I persevered.  I spent the rest of the day on manual.  It was frustrating and slow, yet thrilling at the same time.

Maggie swinging

Nick swinging

And the beauty of digital, is you’ll never know how many shots it took me to get these.

2 responses to “worth 1,000

  1. Awesome shots!! And those smiles…no words can describe them!

    Thanks for the inspiration. I need to turn “automatic” off myself. I’ll let you know how it goes…

  2. Really cute photos!! I love Maggie’s chin. She and her chin and Nick too are adorable!

Leave a Reply

