a new perspective

I have been mulling over a conversation I had with a dear friend a few weeks ago at my high school reunion.  While we were talking, I mentioned something about how non-confrontational I am.   And then she cocked her head and raised her eyebrows.

“Since when?” she asked.

“Oh, I don’t know.  A lot of the time it’s just easier to not make waves.”

“You?”

“Yes.”

“Since when?”

“I don’t know,” I said, shrugging my shoulders.

“You?  That doesn’t sound like you at all.  You used to crush things that got in your way.  You didn’t take crap from anyone.”

I didn’t have much to say at the time.  But I do now.

To her I say “Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.”

I really needed to hear that.  I needed to be reminded that I can handle whatever is thrown my way.  I have been taking a backseat to fear lately, and I think it’s time for that ride to end.

On that note, Nick had his MRI done this morning.  He was amazing (even though they had to put in four IVs to get one to work.)  I stayed calm and we took it one step at a time.  We get results either tomorrow or the next day.  This sense of peace has come over me, mixed with the feeling that I’m ready to take on whatever comes my way next.

It feels good to feel like me again.

3 responses to “a new perspective

  1. For what it’s worth, I’ve known you for a little over a year now and “non-confrontational” is not an adjective I would use to describe you! Not that you’re overly-confrontational either. It’s just that I see you that you know what you want/need and you go for it. A very admirable trait indeed!

  2. I agree with Leanne. Non-confrontational would definitely not come to mind. You know what you want (for you, for your family) and you go after it until you get it! Whether it’s a ped you like, a diagnosis, a second opinion, or a sandbox!

Leave a Reply

