B.Day

So, it’s my birthday.  And we are just hanging out at home.  We ran a few errands today – finished the paperwork so Maggie is set to start kindergarten, got a freak chance for the kids to explore a school bus as we left the school, and a few other measly things not worth mentioning.  But the morning started with Maggie heading for the couch after breakfast.  The only other times this has happened she has ended up puking in a bucket, so I was freaked, to say the least.  But she read some books and rallied and off we went.

I kept thinking to myself: the world is not a cruel enough place for her to puke on my birthday.  Right? So far it’s looking like a false alarm.  Whew.

We celebrated my birthday last weekend when my parents were here.  My dad and I went out to run a few errands, one of which was getting a gift card from Barnes and Noble.  My dad jumped at the chance to join me at the bookstore.  Let’s just say he has a love of books like few people I have ever met.

We both headed to the discount bins that were teasing us with 40-75% off signs.  He found a few that “he couldn’t pass up.”  I found a book on making skirts that looked interesting, so we bought our books and continued on our journey.

When we got home my mom asked if we had found anything, knowing the answer was most likely in the affirmative.  I showed her the skirt book and she laughed at me.

“I should know better that to send you two out alone to the bookstore.”

“What??”

“A skirt-making book?  Really?  Because you make so many skirts?”

“Well, now I will be able to make some skirts because I have the book that will show me how.”

The logic seemed to hold for me.  She was not convinced, in the least.  So now I really will make a skirt just to prove myself right.  Because in all honesty, I don’t follow sewing directions very well.  I kind of make it up as I go along.  But I have some really nice fabric that I have been afraid I’ll ruin.  So with a little education on skirt making, maybe I will know enough to fake my way through it.  How hard can it be??  (I’ll get back to you on that.)

3 responses to “B.Day

  1. Hey lady! I do some sewing and have tons of remnants you can use to make your first skirt! Yes, hard to believe I do something domestic!

    We could get the kids together and have a sewing party… 🙂

  2. Happy Belated Birthday, Brigid!

  3. Brigid, I want to order a skirt! Let me know when you’re ready, and I’ll bring the fabric. Or maybe we can fabric shop together so you can advise me. “Uh, no Suzanne – I don’t think I can work with leather quite yet.”

Leave a Reply

