until she kicks me out…

As part of our usual bedtime routine, Mike reads to Maggie and I read to Nick.  This is the way it has always been.  And seemed like the way it would always be.  But tonight, for some reason, we switched (OK, maybe part of the reason was because Maggie snapped at Mike and Nick to get out of her bed and leave her stuffed animals alone and go read in your own bed.  I don’t know where she learns such things.)

But I ended up staying in with Maggie and Mike with Nick.  Nick protested for a moment (which is why it is the usual bedtime routine) but quickly got over it and let Mike stay.  That is a huge thing.

But what I realized is, I really miss reading with, snuggling with and talking with Maggie in those calm few minutes before the light goes out.  So much of the day is spent correcting behavior, refusing to let her watch more TV, asking her to stop, asking her to go, nag, nag, nag.  The moments before bed are such a wonderful time to reconnect.

I will be the first to admit, there are nights when putting the kids to bed is the last thing I want to do.  But tonight I stayed for that extra half an hour to snuggle my almost-kindergartner to sleep.  Some day she will ask me not to stay.  Until then, I am going to try to remember to soak up as much as I can get.

Leave a Reply

