sticks and dogs

We went to our neighbors’ house after dinner so Maggie could play with their dogs and Nick could look at the dogs through the fence – as that is as close as he wants to get to them, thankyouverymuch.

I was patting his head and ruffling his hair in a typical loving-mother fashion.  And I felt something crusty.  I wondered which part of what meal I was about to unearth.  And this is what I saw:

head woundMy son has a head wound.  I have no idea where it came from, when, or if it had help -like from a stick wielding sister. I had to have Maggie hold his hair to get the photo, because my claw-like fingers looked like I was picking him up by his scalp.  I am already exposing myself to DCFS, don’t want to make matters worse.

I know it’s from today, because there is matching blood on his shirt.  I would like to think that I would have noticed at dinner, but I can’t be 100% sure.  Maggie seems to think that he hit himself in the head with a stick (which means she totally did it, or he really did hit himself with a stick – I can’t be sure.)  I do know he never cried or complained or made it known in any way.  Oh, what I would give for that pain tolerance.

Maggie and CiscoMaggie had a ball playing with the dogs.  This one is named Cisco.  The non-pictured dog is called Dusty.  Dusty and Cisco are reasons #76 and #77 why we don’t need a dog.  We have two free ones we can play with, yet not feed, scoop poop, pay vets, and on and on and on.

 

 

 

 

mean faceAnd I couldn’t resist this one.  It’s was her best mean face when it was time to leave.  It was all in jest because she knew I was taking her picture.  I didn’t even tell her it was going to freeze that way.

3 responses to “sticks and dogs

  1. After bath, and cleaning off the dried blood, it turned out to be a very small (smaller than a pencil eraser) scrape. “Head wound” may have been an exaggeration.

  2. Glad it was small! I don’t know if I told you about the random CIRCULAR scab on Yago’s head. We had no idea how it got there and I was able to convince the doc for antibiotic cream instead of 10 days of oral antibiotics. (It had infected a bit) He has so much hair so we don’t know when he did it or how, and we even found it by chance since the scab had gone into his hair.

    Boys will be boys, I guess!

  3. Boys and blood- get used to it!

Leave a Reply

