Blinded by love

I think most of us know that feeling of being so in love with someone (or at least, thinking we are in love with someone) that we miss seeing reality.  I know I didn’t always make the best choices in dating.  I was, at times, blinded by love.

I fear it might be happening again.

I am blinded by the love I have for my son.

If you had asked me two hours ago how his speech and development is going, I would have enthusiastically said “Great!”  In my eyes, he has made huge improvements.  I know he still has some road to travel, but he is on the right road, pointing in the right direction.

He had a speech therapy appointment this morning.

I just got T-boned going 50 miles per hour.

His therapist, who I have a lot of respect for, thinks he needs to be tested again.  She thinks he slipped through the cracks and should have qualified for state help.  She thinks he needs occupational therapy in addition to his speech therapy.

She thinks he is still really far behind.

I balked.  I almost started to cry right there.  I was so taken off guard.  I am nothing if not guarded.

She saw the look on my face.  She emphasized how much progress he has made.  She really cares about my son.  And me.

What scares me as much as him being on this windy road, is that I was so blinded by my love for him that I didn’t see the perils that still lie ahead.

7 responses to “Blinded by love

  1. Brigid,
    Not blind at all. He is so young and you are most definitely on top of things. Patience, love, patience- and a good professional- all you need!!
    Remember he is Nicholas and going at Nicholas’s pace. You guys will be fine!!!

  2. I wish I could have been there with you to give you comfort. Your job is to love your son and daughter and give them the best that you can: you are definitely doing that. Hugs…

  3. Oh honey! I’m so sorry – I wish I was there to give you a huge hug and drink a glass of wine…

    Have a piece of chocolate, curl up with your AMAZING and PERFECT children and remember that moms are supposed to be madly in love with their children!

  4. but, you are getting him the help he needs

  5. do you know that Einstein didn’t talk at all until four years old? And my brother who is a very successful hydrogeologist with a master’s degree did not read until 3rd grade. Go figure!

  6. Our kids are most definitely perfect in our eyes and there is no reason to have it any other way. He’ll get the help he needs if he needs it, and he has you to make sure of it.

    Hugs and hang in there!

  7. Pingback: Before the Bliss « Eager and Anxious

Leave a Reply

