pinch me

Today was one of those days that just worked.  Nothing fancy, nothing too out of the ordinary, but at the same time, just a darn good day.

A peaceful morning.  A quick trip to the doctor for Maggie’s blood draw.  She was a rock star.  Then to the grocery – where everyone followed directions.  Home for lunch, then nap/hush time.

I (are you sitting?) actually cooked dinner.  With raw chicken.  That I had to cook and them pick from the bone!  I know, I can scarcely believe it myself.  I kind of goofed and chopped way more green pepper and onion than I needed, but then realized I had extra chicken too, so I made two dinners and froze one.  Ha!  Me, making two dinners in one day.  With leftover chicken for chicken salad tomorrow.   

While I was doing this, my children played together in the other room.  For a long time.  Working together.  Laughing.  Then went upstairs together.  And played some more.  And enjoyed each other.  For a long time.

They get along most times, don’t get me wrong.  But they were playing with blocks, which is usually punctuated with “he knocked my tower over” cries.  Today it was “we are sharing and having fun.”  Seriously, she said that.  I’m not making this up.

We ate a great dinner (except Maggie who put her hand up and said “No!” when she saw green things and red things.)  She tried a few bites, and was excused from the table.  No arguments.  

We went to the park after dinner.  At first I was a little bummed that I forgot my camera, but then Maggie and I played tag, and raced, and swung together on a swing.  Then we swung next to each other.  And I went high.  I can’t remember the last time I really got a good leg-pumping, swinging high.  I wished someone could have taken my picture.  Then I swung with Nicholas in my lap.

I would not have had as much fun with my camera around my neck.  Sometimes having the memory is better than preserving a memory.

One response to “pinch me

  1. You’re a rockstar!

Leave a Reply

