April Jokes

I have never been a fan of April Fool’s Day. Partly because I am not a fan of being the butt of the joke. Any joke.  But that’s just me.

There was the one year when I was in the fifth grade, when the boy I was “going with” and I played some jokes on our friends.  We called up all the other kids who were “going together” using the brand new three-way calling function.  I listened while he talked to the girls and he listened while I talked to the boys.  We basically told both members of each couple that the other was breaking up with them.

Hahahahaha.  What a laugh riot.  Not really.  All the couples except one (I think there were three to begin with) ended up breaking up for real.  Kind of sad.  But hey, it was the fifth grade.  What can I say? (We did call them back within an hour of the original call to say April Fools, but most didn’t even seem to care one way of the other.)

They got their revenge on us a few weeks later when we weren’t expecting it.  It sucked and we were both heartbroken until we realized at the end of the day that they had been giving us a taste of the dish we had served.  Ouch.  We stayed together for the rest of that year and part of the next.  Though we certainly learned our lesson.

So this morning, I was kind of dreading April Fool’s.  But how surprised I was when I explained it to Maggie and we had a good 20 minutes this morning of cracking ourselves up.  We kept coming up with sillier and sillier jokes.  She kept yelling April Jokes instead of April Fools.  She said it sounded better.  I think I agree.

I told her she was going to spend the night at school.  Her eyes got huge.  Then I said April Fools and she laughed and laughed.

“I was laughing so hard I was crying.  I have never done that before!” she said.

She kept asking for more and more.  It was so much fun.  

On NPR they ran an April Fool’s story that I almost believed for a minute, but quickly realized had to be a joke.  When they said April Fool’s at the end Maggie couldn’t believe they were doing jokes on the news!

It was a fantastic joke-filled morning.

Leave a Reply

