random blah

I spent the first two hours of the day subbing in Nicholas’ class.  Then the next three at the doctor’s office (mostly waiting, nothing dramatic), then back to the school for the last couple hours.  Pooped begins to cover it.  

Once again, I am amazed at the people who do this every day.  Taking care of children during your break from your own children – wow. Both of his regular teachers spent the day at home puking their guts up.  Please, please, please, let those germs have died over the weekend, and not find their way into my home, myself or my kids.

To keep this post as random as possible I’m going to just throw on something I came up with a few days ago that is completely unrelated.

A few reasons why I hate grocery shopping:

Theory of 5’s for cereal.  I only feed the kids (and in theory, myself) cereals that have at least 5 grams of protein, 5 grams of fiber and only 5 grams of sugar.  There are not many out there that meet this criteria.  And a few of the ones that do, taste worse than the box they come wrapped in. 

Sometimes, I allow a little extra sugar, if say the protein is through the roof.  Or maybe the fiber and protein are a little higher – that buys a tad more sugar.  It makes for a lot of reading in the cereal isle.  Some cereals I would think are OK, like certain raisin brans, come loaded with sugar.  Not the natural kind either.  The flakes have actually been rolled in sugar.

Avoiding high fructose corn syrup.  Ugh.  So, so hard to do.  It’s in just about everything convenient.  I try.  I try.  And sometimes I succeed.  Many times I fail miserably.  I wish they would take it all off the shelves.  But the shelves would be so empty there wouldn’t be much left.  Except veggies.  And fruits.  And I could eat those now if I wanted to.  I want some HFCS-free carbs.  Is that so much to ask for?

Partially hydrogenated.  Ugh, again.  Whatever was left that didn’t have HFCS in it, is bound to have something partially hydrogenated in it.

I would so love to eat healthier, and cook more, and cook things that are edible.  Maybe when Maggie starts kindergarten and Nick is in school three days a week I will learn to cook, from recipes, with ingredients.  Wouldn’t that be nice?  Oh, except for my aversion to raw meat.  Right.  Forgot about that.

3 responses to “random blah

  1. Uh, yah, forgot to mention – all my tests are normal. First, second and third opinions all agree. And Nick’s EKG came back normal. So I can exhale now. Could have something to do with my brain fog tonight.

  2. YAY for the all clear!
    I’m getting better at things that are quick and easy but still healthy. We still have the emergency chicken corn dogs on hand just in case. It’s sad that there aren’t enough hours in the day for me to even attempt my mom’s cooking. Persian food can take days to prepare!
    Let me know if you ever want to do one of the classes offered at Williams-Sonoma…I would totally be up for that!

  3. Shab- let’s get the schedule and pick a class! Great idea.

Leave a Reply

