making memories

What an amazing day.  My daughter Maggie and I got to spend a much needed day as just the girls.  My parents are still here and mom took care of Nicholas who is still spiking a fever the moment the “purple” runs out.  (Motrin, for those of you who don’t speak toddler.)

First we went to the pediatrician to get the bad part out of the way early.  Two shots, which she took like a champ.  Then we were headed off for smoothies, a haircut, kindergarten registration, shoe shopping, lunch, and a cruise through the pet store. We both had a ball.

I think I sometimes forget what a true delight my sweet four-year-old can be.  Especially when she is not vying for my attention, stealing it away from her brother, the laptop, the phone.  Hmmm.  Maybe a deep look at my priorities is in order. (Though the little brother will have to remain a priority, I think some daddy/son time and some Maggie/mom time might be in order on occasion.)

She got to pick where we went for lunch (with my right to veto).  I vetoed Chuckie Cheese and McDonald’s on the grounds that their food is not actually food.  We compromised on Wendy’s.  She got to do things like pick any table in the restaurant.  She chose a little two-seater, which would have been impossible with a high chair pulled up to it.  She said it was just perfect for two girls. When she dropped her oranges on the floor, I reassured her it was all good and got her some more.  (I would like to imagine I would have been as happy and carefree with both kids, though the constant pull in two different directions usually makes outings like this exasperating.) We even got a little frosty to celebrate.  

“Thanks so much for making today so special,” she said.

“Thank you for making today so much fun,” I said.

“I hope you don’t die soon.”  Her eyes welled up with tears.

“I’m planning on being around for a really long time.”

She looked at me with those big brown eyes of hers and my chest hurt a little.  If only I could promise to be here forever.

One response to “making memories

  1. That is so sweet! I am actually teary eyed just picturing the Wendy’s scene. What a nice day!

Leave a Reply

