Santa in training

The other day as we headed to the grocery store, Maggie started hitting me with the questions again.  

“How old is Santa?”

“I’m not sure.”

“Is he really old?”

“Well, he’s older than you and he’s older than me.”

“If he’s really old, that means he might die soon.”

“Uh, I think he’s pretty healthy.”

“But if Santa dies, does that mean there will be no more Christmas?”

“Uh, I don’t know.  Maybe he has a son or somebody that he is training to take over for him when he’s ready to retire.”

“Oh, that would be good.  Then we can still have Christmas.”

And just like that, we moved on to the next topic.  Whew.

I am beginning to realize I start a lot of my answers with the word Uh.  It gives me one extra second to think of an appropriate answer for some of these whack-a-do questions she comes up with.

Leave a Reply

