Progress

A long overdue update on Nicholas’ speech habits:  he is doing so much better!  Whether it is the fish oil, the speech sessions, the work his dad and I have been doing with him or just what would have happened naturally, no one can say.  I tend to think it is a combination of all of those things.

One might say you still need a “mother’s ear” to understand much of what he says.  Luckily for me, I have two.  But seriously, tonight, right before dinner, he walked to the fridge and said “apple juice.” I told him he had milk  already on the table.  He said “OK” and went to his chair.  A conversation.  A real conversation!  I love it.

His teacher mentioned that he was beginning to be a lot more verbal at school also.  I think he is digging the whole talking thing.  I am really happy that we were able to recognize a deficit and help him make progress.

I really commend his teachers at school for showing such an interest.  They have supported our decisions and have sought all the information I can give them to help him at school.  It has been great.  Even things that I thought would be too involved for them to work on at school, she has reassured me they are only too happy to help.

Nicholas loves his speech therapist.  He warmed right up to her, as did I.  She has a great sense of humor, to boot.  Though we canceled one session that fell in the middle of disease week at our house, he has greatly enjoyed playing with her the other two times.  And she doesn’t even care if I am in my pajamas when she gets here.  What’s not to love about that?

At one session I was slightly disheartened to see him doing things that I had seen him do and say before.  I admit, I thought of the dollars flowing right out the door and I wasn’t seeing anything new.  I quickly realized that though I had seen it before, he had never had that communication with anyone other than me.  The fact that he was comfortably talking with someone he had only met one time before, turned out to be more than worth it.

I learn something new about Nicholas with every visit.  Having someone with a trained eye give me insights into my child is a wonderful thing.

The goals she has set still seem quite far off, but progress is being made and he is having fun.  I can’t ask for anything more than that.

Leave a Reply

