the calm

I am taking a brief moment to soak up the calm.  Before the storm.  (Scratch that.  My daughter heard me clicking away on the keyboard and has ventured out to “go potty” and talk to me.)  She catches on quickly.  (She is trying to pull the “I’m going to throw up” card, which is usually a get out of bed free card.  But she’s not the only one to catch on quickly.  Two nights in a row.  Not so much.)

Last night was a bit of a crazy night.  Nicholas was up almost every 30-45 minutes in a way I haven’t seen since he was a baby.  And in a way that makes me appreciate not waking up every 30-45 minutes, or every hour or every two hours, for that matter.

Waking and crying.  In pain.  I thought it was stomach related (read: gas) but this morning it turned to fever and we went to the doctor.  Like I always do, I diagnosed an ear infection.  Like so far is always the case, it was not an ear infection.

The doctor did order a few chest X-rays to rule out pneumonia.  And I’m really glad we did, because he got progressively worse as the day went on.

Last year I spent the afternoon of New Year’s Day in the ER with Nicholas.  Apparently he has a birthday and then falls apart.

But now we are in the calm.  He is sleeping.

But for how long?  My bet is not long.  I hope to be pleasantly surprised, but I feel a long night coming on.  When he gets a fever, he doesn’t kid around.  104.5 is par for the course and we’ve already been there today.  And he usually gets worse at night.

All children get worse at night.  It’s the craziest thing.  When the house quiets down and all you can hear is the raspy breathe of your child, the fever gets higher and you wait for the sun to come up.  So I will try to grab a little food for myself (breakfast was at 11 after the wild morning, so I’ve been off all day too) and prepare for the night ahead.  The sun should be up in about 10 hours.  And hopefully tomorrow the fever will break.

Leave a Reply

