books

I am the happy owner of a new dictionary.  It was a gift from my parents (one that I had strongly hinted/placed an order for.)  After I opened it, I flipped through the pages and asked Maggie to pick a word.  I was going to illustrate some of the wonderful uses for a dictionary.  She flipped a few more pages and blindly pointed to a word.  Fornication.  Of course. 

I have an old dictionary that I used in college (it was a few years old then, which makes it over 20 years old now!)  Think of all the words that didn’t even exist 20 years ago.  So I am feeling current and ready to go with my new dictionary.

There are some things that I simply like to have on paper.  A dictionary is one of them.  I have tried using on-line versions, but I like the feel of the paper between my fingers.  I like to be able to see the words around the chosen word.  I like to be in control of the whole process.

I was also the lucky recipient of a book about blogging.  (I have misplaced it ALREADY but will edit the title in as soon as I find it.) Can’t wait to get started on that one!  And another Finding Your Voice, Telling Your Stories.  I just need to find the time to find my voice.

Tonight I went to the bookstore for the last of my gift buying.  I glanced at the parenting section for the new Elizabeth Pantley book on napping.  I read a review of it and was interested in a section called “Hush time” for kids who don’t want to nap, since I happen to have a kid who doesn’t want to nap.

They didn’t have that book, but another one popped out at me and I left with it.  I think it’s called Late Talkers.  It’s official.  With the passing of yesterday and the little man’s birthday, he’s a late talker.  I will be reading up on things I can do to help his speech, what to look for in case there is a problem, though surely will find other things that may make me neurotic.  At least I will be an informed neurotic.

Add in a book club book, or two, and I need to get reading.  What are you reading?

2 responses to “books

  1. I started reading Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell. Did they have any parenting books about those who only start naps in the car??

  2. According to the review I read, there is a section on car nappers. It’s the newest in the No Cry series. Some people have better results than others, but I valued a lot of what I read in the others. No magic pill, of course, but parents going through the same situations.

Leave a Reply

