2nd birthday

Whew!  Yesterday was Nicholas’ birthday party.  It was a lot of fun, a little nutty.  One hour and forty five minutes never seemed so long.  The only major problem was my mother-in-law having to leave a few minutes into the party to go to the ER.  Tests have been run, more tests will be run today.  Seems as though the truckload of stressful things that have run her over the last few months have caught up with her.  But, the hope is that no damage has been done to the brain or the heart and those are two very good things.

Especially good since I was teasing her moments before the ER run was made.  I had taken her picture and laughed saying “Let me take another, that’s not the last photo you want taken before you leave the earth.”  Yikes!  Did I actually say that?  Yes.  Yes, I did.  (In the second picture she’s cracking up at me having said that and it is a better picture.) Talk about words that could haunt…  but like I said, all seems to be well.

Even her daughter, my sister-in-law, jokingly sent me a photo from the ER so the pressure was off me.  It’s a family that really likes to laugh.  And I applaud them, because things have been rough lately.  Finding something to laugh about has become more challenging.

Back to the party.  I think part of what helped me to have a good time was simply letting go.  We had it at a “place” so I didn’t have to clean my house.  They provided the cake so I didn’t have to bake.  (I did make brownies because I think all parents that brave a child’s birthday party should be rewarded with copiousamounts of chocolate.)  I also let go of the attendance list.  When hosting a party two days after Christmas, one never knows how many people will come.  It worked out pretty great.  One fear had been if everyone came, and we got charged $10 per child over the limit.  Another fear had been no one coming.  The kids might not have noticed, what with them not sending the invitations.  But I would have been crushed.  We had a nice mix somewhere in the middle.  I couldn’t have asked for more.  And the party is all about me, isn’t it?

Nicholas didn’t care for the puppet show.  He cried.  He didn’t care for being sung to.  He cried.  He didn’t eat a bite of his cupcake.  It might seem like he was miserable, but for the majority of the party he had a great time playing and wandering around.  And he got lots of cool gifts.  Thank you to all gift givers.  But most importantly, he got to spend the day with family and friends, and it doesn’t get any better than that.

Leave a Reply

