Why do I write?

I have been asked this question many times in the last few weeks.  I think I have given a different answer just about every time.  Let’s see if I can through a few of those answers together…

I write because:

1.  It is the one time of the day I am assured of some solitude and time to think.

2.  I can’t imagine not writing.

3.  Not long ago, I was not writing. (at least anything more than a grocery list, and that certainly doesn’t count.)  I write so I can belong to a super-cool group of writing mamas.

4.  I always (or almost always) feel like I have something to say.

5.  I write this blog to have some sort of running diary of the time my children won’t remember.  I want them to be able to read it when they are older and know how much I love them.

6.  I write because it has always come naturally to me.  I can’t draw or paint, so writing is my creative outlet.

7.  I write with the silent hope that some day an editor will think the world can’t live without a bound copy of what I spew.

8.  I write to quiet the crash of the ideas that swirl around in my head.

9.  I write because there are a few of you out there who seem to like to read my words.  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

