thankful

I have so many things to be thankful for in my life.

First is my husband.  Most men would not be able to handle my moods, my ideas about life and my need to take a nap every day.  I appreciate him dearly, even though he rearranges furniture while I’m out of town and sometimes makes me mad enough to spit.

Second are my children.  I know I am so lucky to have children.  I am lucky to have them at all, but on top of that, I have two pretty great kids.  My heart breaks for friends that have tried for years and years and still have not found the happiness of children of their own.

Third are my parents.  I have the best parents a girl (or guy) could ask for.  They practically give me the shirts off their backs every time I see them.  The are wonderful parents and fantastic grandparents.  I have many friends and family members who are spending the holidays without one or both of their parents.  I appreciate that even though I will not eat with my parents tomorrow, I saw them today and they are well.

Fourth is my brother.  We don’t always see eye to eye on everything, but we are more similar than either of us might like to admit.  My extended family is spending the first holiday away from a dear sibling who is facing some of life’s biggest challenges.  I wish him health and in the future.

It is so easy to take for granted the things we forget we are fortunate to have.  On the beginning of this week-long journey, I witnessed a street fight between two people who appeared to be homeless.  One man had ventured into the other man’s territory, a slice of land near the ramp to the interstate.  A fight ensued as one man defended the only thing he has.  It brought me to tears.  It would have been easy to dismiss him as crazy based on the wild look in his eyes.  But maybe he was just cold and hungry.  Maybe he has lost the ability to rationally explain that since he has “lived” on that strip for years, he considers it his home.  We all defend our home from intruders.

My children were looking out the window on the left as the fight broke out on the right.  I am glad they didn’t see it because I didn’t want to answer any questions right then.  It has taken me a couple of days to process, and that is without the help of a four-year-old’s curiosity.  I still wonder if I should have called the police.  I think the pushing was over and I hope they are both OK, wherever they are.  As I rolled onto the interstate, checking the rearview mirror to confirm that the mayham had calmed, I turned up the heat and passed out snacks to the kids.  I am so lucky and so thankful.

One response to “thankful

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you!

    It is good to have one day in a year designated for the expression of gratefulness. We do not have one here in Malaysia.

    The world would be less chaotic, it would be a more peaceful place if each one of us has the awareness in him that there are plenty for which he should be thankful for.

    To remind myself of my good fortune, I have drawn up a list for my daily expression of giving thanks.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/10/30/now-is-as-good-a-time-as-any-for-thankfulness

Leave a Reply

