message in the massage

I can tell that it is November.  Everything I do begins to take on a “what is the larger lesson I can learn from this” or “how can I improve this area of my life” aspect.  I can always tell when the end of the year begins to draw near because my thoughts become rather introspective and self-helpish.

Today I had the best massage of my life.  I had never had a massage by this person before but I can assure you it won’t be my last.  This was not a foo-foo spa massage.  This was serious-find-the-problem-areas-and-work-them until you might cry.  I think I moaned once.  I moaned in my mind more than once.

The massage therapist was kind enough to suggest some simple things I can do at home to help correct  my horrid posture problems.  One involves hanging my head off the edge of the bed.  Now that is my kind of stretch.  The kind where I can lay in the bed, or almost all the way in the bed, and stretch my neck.  Another involves a yoga ball, which I guess I’m adding to my Christmas list.

But what I was thinking about during the massage, oh, you really don’t get to hear all of it, but I’ll share the pertinent parts.  I need to get my ass to the gym again.  Seriously.  I feel so much better when I am working out on a regular basis.  I know this.  I need this.  This is going to be good for me.  I have no excuse now.  The kids are no longer an issue that concerns my workout schedule.  This is going to happen.  Now.  (OK, I’m out of town right now, but when I get back on Sunday… I will start Sunday.)

Having things explained to me goes a long way to wrapping my head around a situation.  My neck hurts because my posture sucks, which is because my back muscles are weak, which is because my posture sucks.  So strengthen the back muscles, fix the posture a bit (I’m not expecting a miracle) and feel better.  Hey, that sounds awesome.

So hopefully I will have more than eight measly exercise posts in the next few months.  Half of those eight were talking about thinking about going.  Enough!

Leave a Reply

