magic pill

My daughter is searching for a magic pill.  She wants her cough medicine to work immediately.  She wants her vitamin to cure her instantaneously.  She wants all medicines to magically fix all problems the minute they hit her tongue.

We all know this is not the way of world.

So each time I tell her that her vitamin will help keep her healthy, she thinks I’m wrong.  When I give her cough medicine and explain that it will help to settle her cough, she corrects me a moment later with another cough and the phrase “it didn’t work.”

She has been coughing so much today that I think she’s actually making herself cough.  She has gotten into a holding pattern with her phlegm and we just keep circling.  It’s been tough on her and, quite frankly, on me.  I’m ready for the captain to declare the plane safe to land.

Of course, in the back of my mind, I hope she has not got some horrible coughing plague or walking pneumonia.  It crosses my mind as we spend the third night in a row with many interruptions in her sleep cycle.  She is trolling around the kitchen as I type.  But wanting food is a good sign.  And we have ruled out the very important trait of vomiting from coughing to much – she hasn’t thrown up and she has been coughing enough to warrant it. (That sound you hear is me knocking on every piece of wood in the house.)

The poor girl coughed her way through the entire circus today.  That’s a post for another day, but I hated watching her slumped in her chair barely able to perk up for her favorite acts.  I mean come on, it’s the circus!

So I’m off to peel an apple, give her a snack and try to get her back to bed.  Here’s to hoping tomorrow is a better day.  And that both, or at least one of us, gets some sleep tonight!

Leave a Reply

