multitasking

I have become so adept at multitasking that I am having a hard time doing only one thing at a time.  I was sewing, because we all know the quilt deadline approaches, and actually stopped mid-row to check something on the computer (conveniently yet temptingly located right next to the sewing machine.)  I finished on the computer, turned the chair back to the sewing machine and kept going as though I’d never stopped.  Well, kept going for a moment and then stopped to make a note, then kept going.

So the question is, am I bored sewing or have I lost the ability to do one thing at a time?  My iPhone has decreased my attention span.  I check face book about 20 times a day.  Usually in the middle of a task that I would rather not do.  I check e-mail, my to do lists, the weather, my blog reader, my blog surfer, my blog stats (I know I shouldn’t check the stats, but it’s a little too tempting for me.)

I’m giving myself until the end of the week to keep doing six and seven things at a time, because, let’s face it – this is not the week to slow down.  Next week, however, I am slowing down.  I am going to make a concerted effort to start a task and finish it.  To concentrate while doing something.  To walk away from the iPhone for at least part of the day.  To give my full attention to the children without interruption.

My daughter picked up an old phone that we let the kids play with.  She said she was going to get on the computer screen.  She was mimicking me in an honest and not too flattering way.  Hint taken.

But for tonight, I better go so I can finish mounting pictures, watch TV, check my e-mail and the google headlines, have a snack and relax — all at the same time.

One response to “multitasking

  1. I think I could have definitely posted this blog (minus the sewing, of course…)
    I’m going to follow your lead and try to do the same. The next time I think about reaching for the iphone, I won’t. The next time I am in the middle of answering an unemployment claim for work and a new email comes in, I will finish the unemployment claim protest before I read/respond to the email.

    However, if I’m on my to the hospital in labor, I still reserve the right to send text messages and/or update my facebook status from my iphone to let everyone know!

Leave a Reply

