the 76th time

I will be brief tonight.  There is much to do and I can hear the tick of the clock almost like the beat of the telltale heart, except I haven’t killed anyone…   yet.

The quilts that I have been boring you to tears over are due on Tuesday.  I have one to go and am hoping Sunday will be the day for it.  Through some brain lapse, I invited friends over on Saturday so we will be entertaining while I still have much work to do.  In a way, it’s a nice diversion and I will enjoy taking the time off.  On the other hand, I will be kicking myself on Sunday when there is still much work to do!

The auction program came out and the opening bid for each quilt is $50.  I almost lost my lunch right there in the kitchen.  $50??  For a freaking handmade quilt with children’s hand prints and artwork?  Monogrammed with the school name and class?  Are you kidding me?  I know it’s just an opening bid.  I know this.  I have told myself this about 76 times since yesterday.

Apparently to some who don’t know what goes into making a quilt, or six, the price would be that of what you would get at Target.  I’m here to tell you that’s wrong.

I am trying to remain optimistic that the price will go sky high at the auction.  And really, it doesn’t even matter what they go for.  The pat on the back I have already gotten is all the payment I was ever going to get.  It’s just a bit insulting to have worked for 30 hours on something that might sell for $50.  Of course, I will be bidding on ALL the quilts until the price gets to at least $150.

The first bid conversation was to put them at $300.  Then maybe $350.  I was worried they might not go at that price.  Or worried too high of a price would just scare people away.  Somehow there is a whopping difference between $350 and $50.  Literally and figuratively.

I think there were too many people involved and yet not enough at the same time.  Figure that one out!

So I still have at least 6-9 hours to go on the last quilt.  $50 is not much incentive to get it done.  Oh, and I’m working on the photos too.   Some will be paper mounted for $3.  So you can get 5 photos for $15 or a quilt for $50.  Makes perfect sense.

Leave a Reply

