red, red, red, BLUE

I’m a little squirrely tonight.  What with the whole future-of-the-world-as-we-know-it at stake in this little thing we call an election.  I really want to fast forward about 3 hours and find out the results, but unfortunately TiVo doesn’t work with real life. 

A few things about today:

I washed that man right out of my hair…  I got some highlights today.  For the first time EVER.  And an auburn wash – for those of you out there who might not be familiar, it’s a non-permanent color deal that will wash out over time and not leave me with the horrors of exposed roots.  I must say, it’s pretty rockin’!  It actually reminds me a lot of what I used to look like.  So it looks totally natural to me.  I was celebrating the fact that Bush will now go into the history books and get out of my life.  Good riddance!  (and the fact that my hubby has wanted me to “go back to red” for years now and we made a weight loss/hair color deal.  He has more than held up his end of the deal, so now, I have too.)

I tried to be the true Montessori mom today when Maggie asked if she could paint on her easel in the back yard.  Normally she paints when I come up with the idea and am prepared for the clean up process.  Today she came up with the idea and my first response in my head was “Uh, not right now” which means “uh, NO!”  But I decided to put my money where my mouth is and let her go for it.  What I got out of the deal other than a beautiful paint-saturated painting is:

!.  Absolutely nothing done while Nicholas was asleep.

2. Paint on her shirt (after we took the smock off and were washing hands,) and I really liked that shirt! (red paint)

3. Paint on her jeans (yes, mom, she wore them again!) (red paint)

4. Paint on the stairs from before we realized there was paint hiding on the jeans. (red paint)

5. One very happy four-year-old which makes all the paint worthwhile.

So basically, I live in a red state, I have red hair, various things in my house have red paint on them but this election had better go BLUE!!!

One response to “red, red, red, BLUE

  1. Great parenting girl! I’m a Montessori Mom too…but a really bad one: the one who DOESN’T do the painting or put the materials away neatly, ever. And the only reason my kids are remotely independent is because I’m too busy on the computer to be bothered to make a bed or fix a snack. So I’m kinda a MAVERICK Montessori Mom. DOH!

    Love the “wash that man right out of my hair” bit and the red red red everywhere. So clever! Keep up the great writing Brigid!

Leave a Reply

