anxious anticipation

A week ago it would have been eager anticipation – for the VP debate.  Now I am getting a bit anxious about the whole thing.  Not because I believe she has a complete thought vibrating between her ears, but because I think she will memorize a few sound bites and that is all we will get.  I want definitive proof to all those who are still on the fence that she can not be anywhere near the most powerful position in the US, arguably, the world. 

And then there’s the “I want to vote for someone I could sit down and have a beer with” mentality.  WHAT?  Find someone you want to have a beer with and go drink it with them.  Don’t make someone president just because you want to drink with them.  I want someone who can help right the ship that has been badly damaged, almost completely sunk, from repeatedly being run ashore while the crew was off drinking with the people who voted them captain and first mate.

This is not president of your high school student counsel.  This is the leader of the free world.  Most of us SHOULD feel a little out of our league intellectually with the candidates.  That’s why they are running and we are not.  Everyday people get equal votes to decide who runs the country – not to decide who has the best manners when bellied up to the bar.  I’ve been a bartender.  I don’t want a social butterfly taking on the toughest problems we have faced in decades – like a war that will soon be approaching a decade long.  Not to mention an economy that has been scandalized and abused beyond recognition.

I want her to fall flat on her face.  I want her to lose.  I cringe when I hear her talk.  I cringe when I hear him defend her because she is unable to defend herself.  I want something major to happen to end this nonsense and let us get back to some sense of normalcy in our lives.  I am tired of the nightmares.  I tired of being frightened.  I am exhausted from looking into my children’s faces and thinking what disasters may await them if this joke and his jokette get anywhere near the big desk.

One response to “anxious anticipation

  1. Pingback: Not Quite Mom of the Year » Gosh Darn… Just answer the damn question.

Leave a Reply

