Barack and the hyena

So maybe I have been doing more political talk with my four year old than I realized.  We had quite the conversation on the way to school today.

“Who is the man from the news we went to visit?” she asked. 

“Barack Obama” I said.

“Barack Obama” she said.  (We went to the headquarters the other day on a family field trip, so Maggie thinks we practically had lunch with Barack.)  “What about the hyena?  What is his name again?” she asked.

“John McCain.” I said.  (Maggie is nothing if not in love with the Lion King.  Hyena is synonomous with “bag guy” in her world.)

“Right.  He’s a bad man and he lies all the time.”  (that’s her, not me, and I never told her that.)

“Actually, yes, I believe he lies a great deal.”

“And tell me why do we want Barack, again?”

“He is a great man who will be a skilled leader of the United States.  He believes that all people have value – people with a lot of money and people without a lot of money are all people with value.  He will help the US heal from 8 bad years and help America regain some respect around the world.”

“Right.  And we don’t want the elephants to win.  Right?”

“Right.  We want the donkeys to win.”  (I have a “Turning TN blue” button featuring a donkey.)  “Will you come with me on the day I get to vote for Barack Obama?”

“I will!  And I will play with the toys.” (The HQ had a toy section that she enjoyed playing in.)  “Mom, I bet the hyena doens’t even have any toys at his place.”

Precisely.

2 responses to “Barack and the hyena

  1. I discovered your homepage by coincidence.
    Very interesting posts and well written.
    I will put your site on my blogroll.
    🙂

  2. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

Leave a Reply

