ready, set, wean

Let the weaning begin.  I had always planned on weaning my son around the same time as my daughter had weaned, because it worked so well for her.  I know they are different people and the situations can not be compared in the apples to apples sense.  The biggest reason I weaned her in such a hurry (at 22 months, thank you) was because I was newly pregnant again with a history of miscarriage.  So I weaned her and she did just fine.

Well, he is now 20 1/2 months.  Only a month and a half to go before the magic number I have always held in mind.  I don’t know if it will be exact, and it totally doesn’t matter if it is, but the weaning is starting now.  Today was the last day for nap nursing.  We will continue to nurse before bed for the time being, but nursing before nap is out starting tomorrow.  I have a feeling it’s going to be a long week or so, but I think it’s the right time.   Hopefully nap will continue, please, please, let nap continue.

I imagine at first we will do a little car napping, stroller napping and the like just to call attention away from being in the bed like usual.  Then hopefully we can get back to a regular time, regular place thing that I can only imagine will help him at school starting in January.

I will miss it dearly.  I will miss putting him down and having him asleep in 4 minutes.  I will miss getting him back to sleep in 2 minutes when he awoke too soon.  I will miss napping with him all curled up into my body.  I will miss the joyous look he gets on his face when I ask if he is ready to nurse.  I think that is one of the things I will miss the most.  He not only shakes his head, he shakes his whole body.

I wish he could communicate a little better with me so I would know he understands I am not trying to ignore, displease or upset him.  I have given of myself for a long time and I am ready for the next phase.  I think we are both in for a bumpy ride, but the time has come.

One response to “ready, set, wean

  1. You may still get the cuddle time! I was worried that at 19 months the cuddling would stop…Yago still comes into our room for a little more sleep. Rather than nursing back to sleep, it has become a tactile “feeling up his mom” until he falls asleep…but for an extra hour or two of sleep (and a little morning cuddle time when he wakes up) I’ll make the sacrifice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

