cookies and limeade

I was so happy today that I remembered my “one cent” coupon at the grocery store.  It comes in the Sunday paper and is good on Sunday and Monday.  You give them a penny, they give you the item of the week, usually their store brand of something or other.  When I have remembered in the past I have gotten a bottle of ranch dressing and a roll of paper towels.  Not bad for a penny.  Nonetheless, I typically forget it.  I also have done the whole shopping trip with it in my hand, only to get to the parking lot, with it still in my hand.

So today I enlisted the help of my four year old.  She got to hold the coupon in her pocket and her job was to help me remember to give it to the cashier.  From the front seat of the car I asked her if she had pockets in her shorts.  She replied “Of course, mom”  with a little eye roll, like I ask her that ten times every day.  So she was the coupon keeper.  Fine with me!

We did the shopping and got close to the checkout.  We did a pretty good job today, as usual, of getting mostly healthy items.  She got to chose one special thing and today it was muffin tops.  She had asked for them before, and we agreed to try them today and evaluate whether we think they are junky or not.  The deal was also that they were for after a healthy breakfast, not to be counted AS breakfast.  As we wheeled up to the conveyor belt, I asked what we needed to remember to do.  She fished out the coupon in one swift motion and held onto it until she could reach the man checking out our groceries. 

He took it from her with a smile and in one swift motion handed her a whole bag of store brand oreo cookies.  Eeek, gads.  She looked like she had won the freakin’ lottery.  She kept nudging her brother and pointing to their wonderful bounty.  This is not to say that Oreos have not graced our cabinets.  They have, though they go straight into the mommy section that is not for little people.  Did I mention Maggie has a memory like a machine – she will not forget.  She will ask for “those little black and white cookies that the grocery man gave us for a penny” until she is blue in the face.  So I will relent, and I will give her two and then again tomorrow or the next time she asks another two.  Then I will swap them into a ziploc when she is asleep, hide them away and show her the almost empty bag as she gets to have the “last two.”   She will ask what has happened to the rest and I will blame her father.  Heh.

In his defense, not that I should defend, after about a minute, the grocery man apologized to me for handing her the cookies.  Thanks, grocery man.  I think he realized from her joy and my look of shock, and maybe from the other things going past the scanner, that Oreos would be a nice penny item that could have slyly been bagged with the large Hershey bar I usually buy.  I will say I think he was excited at her excitement at giving him the coupon.  He probably thought “How perfect!  Cookies for the little girl!”  Before we left he told her she could only eat them when her mom said it was OK.  He was working hard, but the damage had been done.  My child will have black teeth at least 3 times in the next week.  (I will have black teeth way more than that…)

2 responses to “cookies and limeade

  1. Tell Maggie Nana has a Wedding cake in mind for next June. Get some rest and stop watching/reading politics. We are what we think-your mind needs some happy thoughts.
    Mom
    menagle46@gmail.com

  2. Hi Brigid,
    thanks for giving me the link to your blog – your humor is great!

Leave a Reply

