finger exercises

I have officially reached a new low – or high – depending on how you look at it.  I have actually outgrown my rings.  Yes, the rings I wear on my now chubby fingers.  Over the years my fingers have been lean and long, getting chubby during pregnancy and then returning to their normal size after birthing my babies.  Guess what – I’m not pregnant, haven’t been in almost 2 years, but my fingers have decided to plump up on me anyway.

I actually had to take my wedding band off for a day to let a blister heal that formed when my fingers swelled at the baseball game.  It wasn’t even that hot, but a hot dog and some peanuts later and I ended up with a blister from rings I have been wearing for almost nine years.  It’s really time to head to the YMCA and put a limit on my daily caloric intake.  (We all know some of that daily intake must be reserved for chocolate, so I guess the fries and onion rings are going to have to hit the road.)  But how do I tell a trainer that I want to focus on my fingers?  Oh, and while we are at it, my double chin.  Those are my target areas.  Any ideas?

I presume that were I to obtain a healthier, more fit figure all over, that the finger thing would hopefully take care of itself.   Either that or I’m going to have to try to get my rings stretched.  Not sure which will be easier: stretching platinum or getting me to the gym.   The chin thing is pretty well here to stay.  Soon it will be turtleneck season and I can camouflage it for a few months, but it’s permanent.  Hopefully all my talk of the gym will end up with an actual visit this weekend.  Until then I will have to make do with finger exercises.

Leave a Reply

